Pore me.

“Pore Me”. Self- portrait embroidered on ostrich skin.

This was my final project for Structural Enrichment I (Fall 2009). We basically got to do whatever we wanted (why I love this class). Our professor, Mary Hark, is really great at encouraging her students to work on what is personal and meaningful to them.

I fell in love with embroidery this semester, and wanted to embroider a portrait. But what kind of portrait?

Back in high school I would cover my face in pore strips and I looked pretty ridiculous. But I did not care, because I was willing to do anything to get rid of my blackheads. I have always been self-conscious about my acne and blackheads. This black bumpy ostrich leather reminded me of blemishes and blackheads. Plus it is skin. So I decided to do a portrait revolving around pore strips. This piece is difficult for me to explain. Maybe because it is so personal, maybe because I feel that it is unresolved. Why is it unresolved? First, not everyone knows what a pore strip is… I should think of a more universal way to represent insecurities revolving around acne/pores. Second, it has dangerously close connotations with race, what with using black and white and embroidering on a skin, but this is not at all what it is about. I am not sure where to go with this, but I want to explore a series that tackles acne/pore insecurities. Any ideas?

One response

  1. Cydny

    It came out great! I’m so proud of you chick!

    January 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

