A Jacket.

This was my final patternmaking (DS 253 Fall 2009) project (and what I made instead of a third piece for my collection in Apparel Structures II). Basically, this is my first design that I made from start  to finish, from sketch to muslin (okay multiple muslins), to paper pattern, to fashion fabric.  (Photos by Mom)

Asymmetrical cotton twill jacket with contrasting navy top-stitching. Will have functional pockets and will be fully lined in navy fabric that is seen on the belts.

Collar can be worn up, to fight those fierce spring winds (or if you just feel like being dramatic)

Reversible D-ring belts at waist, sleeve cuffs, and collarZipper and snap closure

If I had all the time in the world, I would make this jacket in a bunch of different materials/colors. (leather, wool, fur…I want a winter version- wouldn’t a faux fur collar be so cozy?) And make a man-version for Zach (see below).

From left to right:  Original sketch, work in progress, the messy studio from everyone pulling all-nighters to finish projects, and my wonderfully enthusiastic and supportive friend Zach modeling my jacket.

5 responses

  1. ZAFASHIONISTA aka ZA-A

    Beautiful coat Anna! I adore it. I can’t wait to see it at Land’s End because it will be there and it will be a must have item! You are so talented and I think one day soon you will reach your full potential and make a HUGE mark on the world of fashion. You are Annathena Goddess of Fashion! Work It Covergirl!
    Love,
    Your model
    Za-a
    (the dash is pronounced)

    January 9, 2010 at 5:23 am

  2. Pingback: Round-Up: VI « Caffeinerd

  3. Pingback: Selvedge « anna hart

  4. Pingback: Madison: The Gallery « Caffeinerd

  5. Pingback: Living the Dream. «

Leave a Reply

