Headband Happy

Emily is in my Patternmaking and Apparel class and she is super cute. I mean just look at her awesome headband, framing her bold bangs, sparkling green eyes, and charming smile. Just using some yarn,  pieces of fabric and buttons, Emily creates whimsical headbands in a pinch. And you can too!  Why spend twenty five dollars or more on a headband that you could quickly make yourself for half or less than half the price? Plus, people think you are cool if you wear things that you make. You can braid/crochet/knit yarn together for a headband (like Emily who crochets chains and braids them together) or you can buy some plain ones and set your hot glue gun to work (like me)!  In this case, there is nothing wrong with using your hot glue gun- whoever made those twenty five dollar headbands at Urban Outfitters used one too. Check out this site for more inspiration!

Emily sporting one of her adorable headbands

More examples of Emily’s lovely headbands

Me wearing a headband I made using  purchased feathers from Joann Fabrics (peacock and pheasant)

This is not the best picture, but I thought I would post it anyways.

(I ended up selling this headband at the Wisconsin Union Directorate

Student Art Sale, thank you to whoever bought it!) I wrapped a

cloth headband in ivory ribbon and hot glued on some rhinestones

I had laying around and some roses that I made with ribbon. (My friend Sam

taught me how to make roses with ribbon- hoping to post a how-to on that soon!)

2 responses

  1. caffeinerd

    These are all beautiful! Looking forward to the how-to.

    January 2, 2010 at 4:42 am

  2. Emily

    Awwwww!!

    <333 you Anna, I feel so honored to be in here. 😀

    January 2, 2010 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

