A Call for Action

IMG_4304At the beginning of the school year I met up with one of my friends to catch up on life. We determined that the corner of Park and University would be a good place to meet, since it was close enough to both of our abodes. So I was just kind of awkwardly standing there, waiting to see my friend, when I noticed a pile of things on the ground and a scruffy-looking man meandering nearby. I thought to myself, oh no, he’s probably going to talk to me or something because I am just standing here… I don’t even have my cell phone or ipod to look like I’m “busy”. Eventually he did approach me to give me a small folded note. I opened it, read it, smiled vaguely in his direction, and put it back in my pocket. That note, that seemingly random encouraging reminder, actually made my day, and it was exactly what I needed to hear.

This year I had been thinking about starting a Bible study in the French House and starting this blog, but had been in the “maybe” “I don’t know” “what if” stage for a long time (and I still am from time to time). But then I got this note, and with the support of my friends and family, it is all coming together. I do not think any of this was a coincidence, as I have praying for God to show me what He wants me to doing, to speak to me through other people. As Jesus says in Matthew 7:7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” Opportunities are unfolding for me to share what God has been teaching me, now I just need to be bold enough to “do it now!”.

So now I am following the instructions and passing this note on to you. Is there something good you have been wanting to do that you have been too afraid to try?

Go for it.

5 responses

  1. caffeinerd

    Aw. I think that is lovely. Random acts of kindness make my heart feel happy.

    I think the 5K is the big “NEW CRAZY THING I never thought I’d do” on my plate right now. Starting to think about how/where I want to volunteer once this crazy thing called grad school is over.

    September 23, 2009 at 4:57 am

  2. maproprechambre

    Yay, yeah I was actually thinking about you and your 5K when I was writing this. 🙂 That is so awesome. What places are you looking at for volunteering?

    September 23, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    • caffeinerd

      I have no idea since I don’t know where I’ll be living. But the 5K benefits the Crisis Nursery in Urbana, which was always somewhere I wished I had volunteered in undergrad.

      September 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm

  3. That is such an uplifting message. And what a wonderful way to pass it on to an unlimited amount of people! Ahh, the internets.

    I surely need to follow that advice, although in exactly which direction I am not quite sure.

    September 24, 2009 at 4:54 am

  4. Chloe

    i think i needed that reminder…why do we always let fear get in the way of doing something good? God is way more powerful than fear 🙂 oh, and as a Chambana resident myself, let me tell you…Crisis Nursery is the best!

    September 25, 2009 at 2:55 am

Leave a Reply

