Forks. (No this is not a reference to Twilight.)

Here are some pictureIMG_3603s of my final project for the structural enrichment portion of Design Studies 501, which I took in Fall 2008. First we made a bunch of samples, which had loose requirements, and then we were to take a technique from one of our samples and produce it on a larger scale, preferably fifteen inches wide and as tall as we were to create a “field” on the surface of our fabric. For me, towering above most everyone else at six foot two, this could be considered a disadvantage. But really, I loved working on this larger scale, since I had never done anything like it before. I bought out all the plastic forks from all the Walgreens in Madison (“Are you having a party?” … no. haha) since I found that this certain kind was the only kind (that I knew of ) that had prongs spaced apart enough to fit together into pairs of two on my fabric. There is no type of glue or sewing involved in this piece- I stuck the top of one fork in, stuck another fork-top in and pushed the two together, hopefully without breaking them but securing them tightly enough so they would not fall out. I worked on this project whenever I had the chance, until almost everyone in the French House had seen this bizarre creation in the making. Finally, when all the forks were in there, I took it outside and spray painted one side black and one side white. By the time it was all done, the only good way to transport it was via laundry basket, so that was one of the weirder things I have carried around campus.

Anyways, my piece made it into the Student Gallery at the School of Human Ecology, where it received an Honorable Mention (see above). One of the jurors told me that he liked it because from far away it almost looked like birds, but then up close you are surprised to see that it is actually a bunch of forks! I was so happy to hear him say that, because for the majority of my life Monet has been my favorite artist, and up close his work looks like a bunch of paint blobs, but from far away all of these form a beautiful scene.

My piece also made it into the Surface Design Association‘s Off the Grid Fashion Show, which was held in Kansas City, Missouri. I unfortunately could not attend, but my professor e-mailed me this picture that someone posted on their blog! (below) To enter the conference, I came up with a title for the piece “A Rapacious Wrapping”. Honestly, when I was making it I did not have any deep meaning in mind, that part came when I was figuring out a title. I think it is a kind of funny but sinister piece, reflecting how a lot of times we put an innocent face (white side) to darker truths (dark side). Also, being made out of forks, it can represent insatiable hunger and greed- that where “rapacious” comes in. (definitely used a Thesaurus on that one) Those are my thoughts, what are yours?

DSC01973

6 responses

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love this so much.

    September 23, 2009 at 4:42 am

  2. Amelie

    Hey Anna!
    Your blog is on a great start. I remember seeing your final project in the TV room upstairs. I’m glad it was successful.

    September 23, 2009 at 4:41 pm

  3. I love the title. It made me LOL a little. I also love your creations — you are such a talented artist (in whatever form you choose to create)!

    Your name also makes me think of “Chicago” — but not in a bad, compare-you-with-the-main-character way. Just ’cause the song from the musical πŸ˜‰

    September 24, 2009 at 4:58 am

    • maproprechambre

      aw thanks molly! you are a very talented artist, you always whip up something awesome and make it seem effortless πŸ™‚ haha, I hadn’t thought of that before– roooxxiiiie hart! dooo dooo dooo dooo doo

      September 24, 2009 at 1:30 pm

  4. Pingback: Q&A: Anna Hart « Caffeinerd

  5. Anna, this is soo cool!! Could you post more pics of a close up?! You explained in the blog, but I would love to see how exactly you fastened everything together….with just forks!
    p.s. This is Shelly πŸ˜›

    April 30, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

